Milo Cake w/ Condensed Milk Icing

Thanks to a very caring friend of mine, I received an entire bag of Milo for my return to Italy. This means I have to use it, for something other than drinking because I only drink water. Or freshly squeezed juice, yes, I am picky.

Anyway, the cake went online and many people seem interested in the recipe, so here it is. It’s a combination and modification of a few recipes I found in order to cater to the limited ingredients I had on-hand so I’m sure if you have an entire supermarket in your kitchen you can do better. So, MILO CAKE!

Ingredients:

195g flour

50g sugar

200g Milo

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

3 eggs

130g fat(butter or oil)

200 ml buttermilk

for icing:

240g condensed milk

300g icing sugar

135g butter

The cake is easy, if you use butter, cream it with the sugar, then mix the wet with the wet and the dry with the dry. Then dump it all together.

If like me, you want both types of fat, the oil goes with the wet ingredients and (see above.) Bake at 180C.

For the icing, whip up the butter till it pales in colour and is aerated then sift in the sugar and whip somemore. Thereafter, add the condensed milk and taste the goodness.

Depending on your skills and how much elbow grease you put in, both the cake and the icing should turn out light and fluffy. If not, they still taste great.

Assemble as preferred and enjoy!

IMG_0664

Leave a comment